What We Do

South Okanagan Regional Growth Strategy Bylaw No. 2770, 2017

On January 19, 2017, the Regional Board adopted the updated Regional Growth Strategy for the South Okanagan.  Bylaw No. 2770, 2017 replaces the older ‘Sub-regional Regional Growth Strategy Bylaw. 2421.01, 2011 with updated data, improved organization, a refreshed look and greater clarity of goals and policies. 

The South Okanagan RGS encompasses the southern portion of the Okanagan Valley and includes RDOS Electoral Areas “A”, “C”, “D”, “E”, and “F” as well as the municipalities of Osoyoos, Oliver, Penticton and Summerland.

The RGS seeks collaboration from all local governments to look at their future holistically aiming to “promote human settlement that is socially, economically and environmentally healthy and that makes efficient use of public facilities and services, land and other resources.”