Apex Fire Protection Referendum

On Saturday, March 27, 2021 eligible electors will be asked to vote on Apex Mountain Fire Protection Service Establishment Bylaw No. 2920 and Apex Mountain Fire Protection Loan Authorization Bylaw No. 2921.

The Apex Fire Brigade currently provides fire services to the mountain community and has formally approached the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen (RDOS) to create a Regional District fire protection service, to be administered in the same way as existing Regional District fire departments.

The project proposes residents of Apex authorize the RDOS to establish a service for the provision of fire protection and borrow up to $3,000,000 in funds to purchase a fire truck, equipment, and acquire land to construct a fire hall.

Please ensure you have all the required forms completed when you vote in-person, and bring two pieces of identification to the voting place.

Eligible electors:
You are eligible to vote if you qualify as: a resident elector (i.e., you live in the proposed service area and meet the requirements for residency, OR a non-resident property elector (i.e., you live elsewhere in BC but own property in the proposed service area).

Non-resident electors:
If you are a non-resident property elector (not your primary residence), please complete the following forms, including signatures of all required parties, and bring them to the voting place:

Multiple owners:
If there are multiple owners of a parcel of land, only one person may represent the majority of the owners as the eligible non-resident property elector. This requires providing the signed property elector consent form on behalf of the other owners. Eligible resident electors residing at the parcel of land also qualify to vote.

Please note, corporations are not entitled to vote or have someone vote on their behalf.

For further information, please contact RDOS Legislative Services at 250-492-0237 or visit https://rdosregionalconnections.ca/aap-referendum


Karla Kozakevich, Chair
Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen


Christy Malden
Manager of Legislative Services

Erick Thompson Andrea Rendall
RDOS Communications RDOS Communications
250-490-4211 250-490-4147