RDOS receives Community Excellence in Governance Award

The Regional District is honoured to receive the Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM) 2022 Community Excellence in Governance award for Utility Acquisition Policy and Process. The award was presented during the 2022 UBCM Convention in Whistler on September 13, 2022.

For further information, please contact Andrew Reeder, RDOS Manager of Solid Waste.

Click here to view the information release.

UBCM Award RDOS ChairRDOS Chair Mark Pendergraft with 2022 UBCM Community Excellence Award for Governance

UBCM Award3


Water's Next Awards

Water Canada, Water's Next is the only nation-wide, peer nominated award program of its kind. The RDOS was recognized in the 'Government - People' category for its innovative programming, water conservation, outreach and customer service. Zoe Kirk, former RDOS Public Works Projects Coordinator was one of 60 nominations, with winners announced at the Canada Water Summit in Toronto late June 2017.

The RDOS conducts a variety of water stewardship projects and workshops, many times with partnerships and grants from funders such as the RBC Blue Water Project Grant and the Okanagan Basin Water Board.  But, it was an in-house program that might have tipped the scales for this prestigious award.

"The West Bench Homeowner Leak Detection Program, identifying and assisting homeowners to fix leaks on their side of the water meter before volume based pricing was implemented, is very innovative" according to Water's Next.



Left to right: Bert Monesmith, Don Hamilton

RDOS Employee Recognized with Provincial "Individual Achievement Award" For Environmental Efforts

Don Hamilton, the Solid Wastes Facilities Coordinator with the RDOS was recognized by the Recycling Council of British Columbia (RCBC) on June 26th, 2008 with the "Individual Achievement Award". The RCBC recognizes the valuable contributions that individuals and organizations have made toward the preservation and enhancement of British Columbia’s environment. Nominations for this prestigious environmental award must demonstrate actions that reduce, resolve or avoid environmental challenges, promote public awareness and practice consistent responsible environmental management.

Don is a long time employee of the RDOS who since 1985 has facilitated the diversion of over 70,000 m3 of wood and yard waste, thousands of tons of metal, gypsum, electronic waste, thousands of old tires and most recently over 55,000 kgs of hazardous waste.

For more information on this award, click here.

Left to Right: Andrew Reeder, Suzanne Haverkamp, Wendy Bennett, Dan Ashton, Sandie Evanchu, Tareq Islam, Don Hamilton

Regional District Wins Waste Reduction Award

Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen, June 16, 2004: On June 10, 2004, the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen received the "Environmental Award for Outstanding Commitment to Waste Reduction" from the Recycling Council of British Columbia (RCBC) in the category of Public Sector Organization.

Nominations for this prestigious environmental award must demonstrate actions that reduce, resolve or avoid environmental challenges, promote public awareness and practice consistent responsible environmental management. The RCBC Awards Committee also considers length of service commitment, commitment to environmental protection and innovative approaches to environmental enhancement.

Key programs that the Regional District was recognized for included curbside garbage and recycling collection initiatives, waste reduction education programs, outstanding landfill management, the new illegal dumping program and increased diversion of compostable materials.

RDOS Chair and Solid Waste Committee Chair, Dan Ashton, was extremely pleased with the award and acknowledgment. "This award is a well-deserved recognition for the dedication to waste reduction shown by all employees of the RDOS. Their peers, the Board and all the citizens of the Okanagan-Similkameen are very proud of their accomplishments."

2003 Best Local Government Website Award

On September 24th, 2003 the UBCM (Union of BC Municipalities) presented the RDOS with an award for the Best Local Government Website in the Regional District category. Receiving the award on behalf of RDOS Board Chair Dan Ashton was Vice-Chair Gerri Logan, Director Roger Mayer and Vanessa Sutton, CAO.

The Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen's Internet website has been in operation since December 2001. The Regional District's Website Committee (staff representation from each department) designed the site and is responsible for the site's ongoing management. The Regional District's geographic information systems team and Acertive Media, an Okanagan-based firm, developed the site. Acertive Media is responsible for its ongoing maintenance.


2002 Innovation in Geographic Information Systems

On October 8th 2002, the RDOS was presented with an Award of Excellence at ESRI Canada's Annual Regional User Conference in Kelowna. ESRI Canada distributes the world's leading Geographic Information System (GIS) software.

Accepting the award from Mr. Myron Doherty, Regional Manager of ESRI Canada was Tim Bouwmeester and Mark Woods.