



Thursday, February 3, 2022, 12:30 p.m.
RDOS Boardroom
101 Martin Street, Penticton, BC V2A 5J9

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Chair M. Pendergraft, Electoral Area "A"
Vice-Chair S. Coyne, Town of Princeton
Director M. Bauer, Village of Keremeos
Director G. Bush, Electoral Area "B"
Director B. Coyne, Electoral Area "H"
Director R. Gettens, Electoral Area "F"
Director D. Holmes, District of Summerland
Director M. Johansen, Town of Oliver
Director S. McKortoff, Town of Osoyoos
Director S. Monteith, Electoral Area "I"

Director R. Knodel, Electoral Area "C"
Director R. Obirek, Electoral Area "D"
Director K. Kozakevich, Electoral Area "E"
Director T. Roberts, Electoral Area "G"
Director K. Robinson, City of Penticton
Director J. Sentes, City of Penticton
Director E. Trainer, District of Summerland
Director J. Vassilaki, City of Penticton
Director C. Watt, City of Penticton

STAFF PRESENT:

B. Newell, Chief Administrative Officer

C. Malden, Manager of Legislative Services

The meeting was called to order at 12:32 pm.

A. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

(Unweighted Corporate Vote - Simple Majority)

MOVED and **SECONDED**

That the Agenda for the RDOS Board Meeting of February 3, 2022 be adopted. **CARRIED**

A.1 Consent Agenda – Corporate Issues

(Unweighted Corporate Vote - Simple Majority)

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Consent Agenda - Corporate Services be adopted. - CARRIED

1. Advisory Planning Commissions

1. Electoral Area "E" Advisory Planning Commission

THAT the minutes of the January 10, 2022 Electoral Area "E" Advisory Planning Commission be received.

2. Commission Appointments 2022

THAT Tristan Boisvert be appointed to the Similkameen Recreation Commission for a two-year term, ending December 31, 2022; AND:

THAT Patrick Gilligan be appointed to the Okanagan Falls Parks & Recreation Commission for a two-year term, ending December 31, 2023; AND:

THAT Kelly Kask be appointed to the Electoral Area "D" Advisory Planning Commission for a one-year term, ending October 31, 2022.

3. Board and Committees

1. Community Services Committee

THAT the Minutes of the January 20, 2022 Community Services Committee meeting be received.

2. Corporate Services Committee

THAT the Minutes of the January 20, 2022 Corporate Services Committee meeting be received.

THAT the 2022 Corporate Business Plan be adopted.

3. Environment and Infrastructure Committee

THAT the Minutes of the January 20, 2022 Environment and Infrastructure Committee meeting be received.

THAT the Regional District decline the request from the Lower Nipit Improvement District to assume ownership of their infrastructure.

4. Planning and Development Committee

THAT the Minutes of the January 20, 2022 Planning and Development Committee meeting be received.

5. Protective Services Committee

THAT the Minutes of the January 20, 2022 Protective Services Committee meeting be received.

6. RDOS Regular Board Meeting

THAT the minutes of the January 20, 2022 RDOS Regular Board meeting be adopted.

A.2 Consent Agenda – Development Services

(Unweighted Rural Vote - Simple Majority)

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Consent Agenda – Development Services be adopted. - CARRIED

 Development Variance Permit Application — Electoral Area "E" (E2021.055-DVP)

THAT Development Variance Permit No. E2021.055-DVP, to allow for the construction of a single detached dwelling at 6851 Indian Rock Road be approved.

2. Electoral Area Advisory Planning Commissions — Revised 2022 Meeting Schedule

THAT the Revised 2022 APC Meeting Schedule for the Electoral Area Advisory Planning Commissions, be approved.

B. DEVELOPMENT SERVICES – Rural Land Use Matters

B.1 Development Variance Permit Application — Electoral Area "C" (C2021.060-DVP)

(Unweighted Rural Vote - Simple Majority)

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT Development Variance Permit No. C2021.060-DVP, to allow for an indoor cannabis research nursery at 7621 Highway 97, be referred to the Electoral Area "C" Advisory Planning Commission. - CARRIED

B.2 Board of Variance Appointments

(Unweighted Rural Vote - Simple Majority)

MOVED and **SECONDED**

THAT Dave Corbeil, Margaret Chadsey and Jim Dinwoodie be appointed to the Board of Variance for a three (3) year term commencing on February 3, 2022; and

THAT a letter be forwarded to the family of Tim Forty in recognition of his service on the Board of Variance. – **CARRIED**

B.3 Items Removed from Consent Agenda - Development Services

No items were removed from the Consent Agenda - Development Services.

C. PUBLIC WORKS

C.1 Bylaw 2925 RDOS Administered Landfills Regulatory Bylaw

(Unweighted Corporate Vote - 2/3 Majority)

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT RDOS Administered Landfills Regulatory Amendment Bylaw No. 2925.01, 2022 be read a first, second and third time, and be adopted. - **CARRIED**

D. FINANCE

D.1 Early Budget Approval

(Weighted Corporate Vote - Majority)

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the request for early approval to commence construction on the Similkameen Recreation Facility change rooms and purchase two electric park vehicles be approved. - **CARRIED**

E. LEGISLATIVE SERVICES

E.1 Appointment of Election Officers - 2022 General Local Election

(Unweighted Corporate Vote - Simple Majority)

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT Christy Malden be appointed as Chief Election Officer and Gillian Cramm be appointed as Deputy Chief Election Officer for the 2022 General Local Election. – **CARRIED**

E.2 Election Procedure Bylaw Amendment

(Unweighted Corporate Vote - 2/3 Majority)

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT Bylaw No. 2798.02, 2022, a bylaw to amend the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen Election Procedure Bylaw, be read a first, second and third time and be adopted. – **CARRIED**

E.3 Items Removed from Consent Agenda - Corporate Issues

No items were removed from the Consent Agenda - Corporate Issues.

F. CAO REPORTS

F.1 Verbal Update

G. OTHER BUSINESS

G.1 Chair's Report

G.2 Directors Motions

1. Directors Motion - Director Monteith

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Directors Motion "That the RDOS review the Electoral Area Community Grant in Aid Policy to remove or adjust the limit to the number of times an organization can be supported." be referred to Administration for analysis of the feasibility, legislative compliance and budget impact. — CARRIED

2. Directors Motion – Director Johansen

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Board appoint Director Pendergraft (Area "A") and Director Knodel (Area "C") to the South Okanagan Aquatic Centre Advisory Committee. – **CARRIED**

G.3 Board Members Verbal Update

H. ADJOURNMENT

MOVED and **SECONDED**

THAT the meeting adjourn. - CARRIED

The meeting adjourned at 1:03 pm.

APPROVED:

CERTIFIED CORRECT: